5 Top World Heritage Sites in Nepal

1. Lumbini

Lumbini World Heritage Sites in Nepal

Lumbini Nepal, where the founder of the world religion of Buddhism, Gautama Buddha, was born in 623 BC. Lumbini is regarded as one of the holiest places in Buddhism and it features pilgrimage sites dating back to the 3rd century BC. The complex includes the Lumbini pillar inscription, Maya Devi Temple, and Shakya Tank where Maya bathed before giving birth to Buddha.

2. Chitwan National Park

Chitwan National Park World Heritage Sites in Nepal

Chitwan National Park, part of the subtropical Inner Terai lowlands of south-central Nepal, is home to one of the last populations of Indian rhinoceros and the Bengal tiger. Historically used by the feudal big game hunters and their entourage, where they stayed for a couple of months shooting hundreds of tigers, rhinoceroses, elephants, leopards, and sloth bears. The park is now one of the last remaining ecosystems of the Tarai region and it is home to over 68 mammal species.

3. Kathmandu Valley

Kathmandu Valley World Heritage Sites in Nepal

The World Heritage Site comprises seven properties: Bhaktapur Durbar Square, Boudhanath, Changu Narayan Temple, Kathmandu Durbar Square, Pashupatinath Temple, Patan Durbar Square, and Swayambhunath (pictured). Three royal Durbar Squares were used by the Mallas, after the unification of Nepal they were used by the Shahs, and the Ranas. Two stupas: Swayambhunath is the oldest and Boudhanath is the largest in Nepal.

4. Sagarmatha National Park

Sagarmatha National Park World Heritage Sites in Nepal

Sagarmatha National Park encompasses the mountains of the Great Himalayan Range which includes the Earth’s highest mountain  above sea level, Mount Everest (known in Nepal as Sagarmatha), and the Sacred Himalayan Landscape, the transboundary landscape in the eastern Himalayas. The park covers an area of 124,400 hectares (307,000 acres) of land and 20 villages with 6000 Sherpas who have lived in the area for the last four centuries.

5. Tilaurakot

Tilaurakot World Heritage Sites in Nepal

Tilaurakot is believed to be the cardinal point of the ancient Shakya city of Kapilavastu, where Gautama Buddha spent 29 years of his life. He left his palace at Kapilavastu to live a life as an ascetic to reach enlightenment. Tilaurakot is also a holy site for Hindus and there are numerous temples on the site.

1 thought on “5 Top World Heritage Sites in Nepal”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *